"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

They are us

Those of you who stop by here regularly may remember from this post, or maybe from this one, that my youngest daughter often surprises me with her unexpected responses to my questions. I love her original answers and wish I took the time to document more of them.

Last fall we enjoyed going through this little preschool workbook together:

On one occasion, I showed her the picture below and asked the related question: “What game are the children playing?”

Her answer? “Math.”

OK, so I guess I can appreciate that she noticed the numbers and made that connection. But mostly, I’m thinking we need to bust out that sidewalk chalk way more often around here!

A few pages later, she correctly answered the first question, “What can you use to write letters to friends?” with “Computer.” (Although, I think the answer I would have given as a child–pen and paper–would have been perfectly acceptable, too. Just sayin’.)

To the bonus question, “What else can you do with it?” she answered, “Work on my blog.” Yes, she said “MY blog.” As in, Remington’s.

Bear in mind that she has almost never seen me working on my own blog, as I usually only do that when she’s asleep. I guess that’s why it struck me as funny when I found her sitting at the kids’ computer desk one day, and asked her what she was doing, and she answered, “Oh, I’m just working. On my blog.”

(Notice that the computer isn’t even on!)

You know where I’m going with this, right? Our children ARE watching us. What are they seeing? What are they copying?

I love this quote by David Bly:

Your children will become what you are; so be what you want them to be.

Kind of scary, huh? But it’s also very motivating. If we want our kids to be world changers; if we want them to be honest and hardworking and loving and forgiving; if we want them to be people of integrity, then let’s work on having those characteristics ourselves. We can’t ask of them what we’re not willing to do.

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "They are us" (6)

  1. leahcoats said:

    I realize this everyday and I love this reminder! :)

  2. The fact that our boys are able to do spot-on impressions of me should constantly drive the message of your post through my heart and brain. Unfortunately, I try to convince myself that they only notice and emulate the good parts of my words, actions, interactions, attitudes, and tendencies. I’m very thankful to see a lot of you in them!

    • Awww…thanks. You are right that their impressions of you are pretty accurate–and I love to see them doing them! I also love seeing them emulate your sense of humor, your forgiveness, your prayers, your maturity in taking the high road, your leadership, your willingness to step out of your comfort zone, and your love for our family.

  3. Okay, I am crying over the sweetness of your correspondence with Troy here. Truly precious.

    Adam takes pictures on my phone and asks me to put them on “FaceBlog.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

