"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

Evidence

If you are like me—and I suspect you are—you can look around your home at any given time and see the “evidence” of the people who share that home with you.

Sometimes the clues are kind of cute.

Oh, did you need to use the stairs? Sorry, those are taken.

You didn’t want your laptop, did you? I’m kind of using it.

Pie? What pie? What makes you think I touched the pie?

Other times, those “clues” are not really that cute at all. Like the other day when our four year old went to the bathroom (and I mean REALLY went to the bathroom) and then decided to do us a big favor and clean the toilet…only she forgot to flush it first. (That was not on the list of why Amy smiles. And don’t worry, I didn’t take a picture.) She was just trying to be helpful, but…  AGGGHHHH!!!!!

Finding sticky spots on the floor, dirty dishes in the sink, shoes all over the living room, and crumbs on the couch are all evidence of the people who live in this house. And while I don’t exactly consider those things fun to find, I do try to remind myself often that these are simply signs that I am surrounded daily by the people I love the most.

I will always remember sitting in a Bible class one Wednesday night and listening to an older lady who had lost her husband. Her advice to those who were married was this: “Be thankful every time you have to bend down and pick up your husband’s dirty socks from the floor. He may not have thrown them in the hamper the way you’d have liked, but be glad he’s still around to get them dirty.” I think I was in junior high that year, so of course it didn’t apply to me then. But to this day I still think about her wise words when I catch myself gritting my teeth as I clean up a mess I didn’t make. Because she’s right: I would rather have them AND their messes than to not have either!

Where there are no oxen, the manger is clean,
    but abundant crops come by the strength of the ox.

(Proverbs 14:4)

I hope you are smiling as you look around at the “evidence” of your loved ones …even if it’s on your floor. Aren’t they worth it?

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "Evidence" (14)

  1. Lovely as always (except for the mental picture you gave me of Remi helping with the toilet cleaning!)

  2. Thank you, Amy! I love this so much! I want my spirit which adores my family, and their joyful smiles to win over my carnal flesh & it’s quest for order even at the expense of the good of our spirits! Jesus, be my Light! Love, Melissa II Cor 9:6-8

  3. Tiffany Hahn said:

    I love this aunt Amy! Kyle is only 1 so when I find his tiny socks in the most random places it makes me so happy or when I find his toy car in our bed under the sheets it’s soooo cute! How did it get there? :) Now when I find Austin’s sweaty socks on the floor not so cute or his car parts next to our bed not so cute either. Because of this I can change my perspective and be grateful for those sweaty socks or be encouraged that my husband finds so much joy in working on his car. :) thank you

    • Tiffany, I am thankful that someone else helped me to see it that way, too, and I’m happy if passing it along helped you. (Now, it’s your turn to pass it on!) BTW, a word of warning…as Kyle’s feet get bigger, his socks will get stinkier, too! Enjoy them now… :)

  4. Stephanie brought me a poem home from school one day that said something about the fingerprints on the fridge moving higher and higher up till they eventually disappeared. The gist was that kids grow up and leave home and then the fridge is clean of fingerprints and the house is clean – but oh so quiet! I personally preferred the fingerprinted fridge and the joyous noise!

  5. I can’t quite fully understand the husband/children thing yet;) But, I don’t know what we would do if we didn’t have Jilliane evidence everywhere! (“Snail” habitats in jars, underwear, socks, pieces of ribbon, paper, or other things she’s either so carefully placed or thrown around.) Thanks for the reminder!

  6. This is so true, better the mess, and this is coming from a bit of a clean freak.

  7. Mike James said:

    Amy, that was a very wise lady that taught you that lesson on Wednesday night. I try to leave Debbie many memories every day. Just kidding. ;-) seriously though, I think that maybe that is why God blesses us with grandchildren. Some of us weren’t as observant and perceptive as you are and didn’t appreciate the happenings with our children. Big loss on our part, great gain on yours. Thank you yet again for reminding me of the truly important things in life and the proper attitude to have. You are much wiser than your years and such a Proverbs 31 woman. Keep up the great work you are doing. Love you all, Mike

    • Mike, thank you again for your sweet, encouraging words. And your comment about leaving her many memories each day made me laugh out loud! (So thanks for being Why Amy Smiles this morning!) :)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

