"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

I have everything

He fell in step beside me, as the neighbor kids often do when I walk to the mailbox down the street. And he stopped me in my tracks with the very first words out of his mouth.

“Ms. Amy, you have everything!”

“What?” I laughed, looking around and wondering if I’d heard him correctly. But the little boy wasn’t laughing. His big brown eyes were serious as he looked up at me and continued.

“You are a teacher, you have two cars…and you get to teach people.”

My first reaction was to explain to him that our vehicles were both older models and that they weren’t exactly……But no. I couldn’t get a single word to come out, because I knew that he was absolutely right. Both our vehicles serve their purposes perfectly, and on top of that, I “get to teach people.”

I get to teach other people’s children in Bible classes at church, and in both our homeschool co-ops. And I am privileged to teach my own four children at home every day. And while sometimes all that teaching feels more like a burden than a blessing, I realized there on the sidewalk by the mailboxes that it’s a gift I’ve been under-appreciating.

Because I do love to teach. I love reading with my kiddos and seeing them learn. I love learning with them all the things I never knew about history and geography and science.

But most of all, I love that I get to teach them about heaven, where we can spend eternity with the God who gave us this incredible life that’s still only a hint of the one to come.

Yes, I have everything.

It just took the eloquence of a little brown-eyed boy to remind me.

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "I have everything" (6)

  1. Janice Hahn said:

    Aww, how sweet. I know you’re so good at teaching because you DO love to do it! Your children are blessed. (And what depth of insight from that little neighbor boy!! Evidently, you are teaching when you don’t even know it. 🙂

    • Thank you! Sometimes even the things we love can be overwhelming…so it’s nice to have those little reminders of why we do what we do. I think God knows we need those…

  2. Out of the mouth of babes…

  3. What a gift from heaven God has given you Amy!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

