"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

There’s nothing quite like pulling an old purse off the shelf, or last season’s coat from the closet, and discovering a forgotten ten- or twenty-dollar bill inside. Who doesn’t love to find money?

But, I’ve never seen anyone express that joy the way a young child does. Our toddler will find a coin and absolutely freak out. It’s usually just a penny, and often it’s not even real–just play money from her sister’s math curriculum. But she will literally squeal with delight as she holds her penny up for us to see.

This is always followed by exactly the same two questions:

“Is this my money?”

(We say yes.)

“Can I give it to God?”

(We say, “Of course.”)

Another squeal, and a happy dance.

Because that is the only reason she cares about finding money. If she couldn’t give it to God, it wouldn’t mean a single thing to her. She doesn’t need money. All her needs are met.

All our needs are met, too. (And met very well, I might add.) And yet, we talk about “giving ’til it hurts.” Oh, I understand that concept. I really do. But how different would things be if we gave until we couldn’t help but squeal with delight? Or if the passing of the collection plate on Sunday morning were a highlight of the week for us, the way it is for our toddler?

II Cor. 9:7 “Each one must do just as he has purposed in his heart, not grudgingly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.

Thank you, my sweet girl, for showing me what a joyful experience giving can be. I’ll be working on my squeal.

(Thanks for stopping by!)

Comments on: "Can’t wait for the plate" (8)

  1. She is so cute! We should all have such a sweet and generous spirit of giving.

  2. Janice Hahn said:

    I saw this first-hand when she sat with us last Sunday. Reading this almost brought tears! “unless you are converted and become as little children . . . “

  3. Oh I love this! Children are so generous and I love how their little hearts love their God! One of the two year olds in my bible class always asks if it is time to pray, then says a resounding amen after.

  4. Great post. Love the story & your thoughts as much as I love her chubby little arms!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

