"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

Twenty years. I still can’t believe we’ve been married for twenty years.

As much as we love our kiddos, we knew this called for a celebration without them, so we left all four of them with their grandparents and headed to Lake Whitney to celebrate in peace and quiet…just the two of us, and God, and nature. As expected, the trip flew by in a moment. Come along for a little peek at how we spent our time…

We sat around our campfire having long, uninterrupted conversations. We looked up at the stars and tried to find and name the constellations. We relaxed in a hammock hung between the trees. We picnicked among squirrels and wildflowers.

We spent LOTS of time fishing. We fished from the rocky bluff right behind our campsite…

and from our kayaks…

and from places all along the shore.

(Did you notice the little rainbow just below his reel?)

We seined together for bait (which was unsuccessful, but fun).  Troy threw out the cast net hoping for bait, and actually caught several good-sized fish in it.


We both did lots of wading, too.

Silly as it may sound, watching our bobbers floating side by side created a feeling of happy contentment. Very. Very. Relaxing.

Of course, actually catching  fish is just the icing on the cake…

I caught this guy just before midnight our last night there. Night fishing rocks!

We both LOVE to hike and rarely get to do it, but on this trip we enjoyed hiking several trails together…

and taking lots of walks…

and quiet strolls around the lake.

We continued our uninterrupted conversations and enjoyed lots of peace and quiet. Most of the time, all we could hear were things like the wind rustling through the leaves…

and crickets chirping overhead…

and water lapping against the rocks…

and birds singing in the trees…

and our campfire crackling.

(Did I mention we were able to have lots of uninterrupted conversations? NICE.)

Oh, and I sure loved waking up to this beautiful sight…

I also loved that just at the edge of our campsite, this little trail led right to a rocky bluff overlooking “our” part of the lake…

One of my favorite memories of the trip was taking our chairs out to the bluff to watch the sun go down. We turned a bucket upside down to hold our big jug of sweet tea and while we talked (uninterrupted), we were blessed with this for our view:

Troy found these HUGE marsmallows for us to roast…

and they made for some enormous s’mores.

We also roasted jalepeno-cheese sausages to put on buns for our lunch…

and ate Frito pie by firelight and moonlight.

We saw some AMAZING sunsets.

On the first night of our trip, I was sneaking past my sleeping husband to go out for a drink of water. I had my hand on the tent zipper when I saw the shadow of the hefty raccoon that walked right by our tent and started exploring  the area around our picnic table. (Yes, of COURSE I woke Troy up to scare it away!) We saw lots of deer, wild turkey, raccoons, birds, armadillos, squirrels, snakes, and rabbits.

The sunsets, the  lake, the wildlife, the stars…..They all reminded us that our God is The Great Artist.

Even some parts of the trip that weren’t perfect were pretty much perfect. One night there was a magnificent thunderstorm. (Remember, we were in a tent!) We ran to our vehicle in the middle of the night….Our intention was to keep safe, of course, but we ended up driving out to the end of a peninsula where we were able to watch a “show” better than any we’ve ever paid to see.  And, we were the only ones at this drive-in!

I guess the same (imperfect=perfect) could be said about marriage. These last twenty years haven’t been perfect. They haven’t always been easy. But, they’ve definitely been worth it! I thank God for blessing our marriage, our family, our lives together. I thank all of you who have served as our role models. I thank Troy for hanging in there with me for twenty whole years, and I’m looking forward to the next twenty.

Thanks for coming along to check out our trip. Here’s one last photo for you, of something only God can do:

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "Celebrating twenty in tranquility" (12)

  1. Congratulations on twenty years. Bill and I will be married for twenty years in Aug. It doesn’t seem like it should be that long.

  2. Becki Connel said:

    Well, Amy. Let’s see. 20 years ago, I was 14. I can remember you being in college and getting married. I remember thinking how handsome Troy was the first time I met him. I also remember the smile on your face. So wide you showed your teeth almost constantly. I still see that smile when I see you and when I read here. I am glad you and Troy are still happy. The title of your blog is very fitting.

    I knew that when I began reading this post that I’d be encouraged and uplifted. I always am. Every single time I read your blog, I am encouraged to be a better wife and mother. This post has reminded me of how important it is to spend quiet, uninterupted time with Robert. And, it has reminded me that even through bad times its what happens in the end that really matters.

    Thank you for your post today. I am thankful to have this reminder at the beginning of a beautiful day. Now, I am going to go plan a date with my husband (and its not our anniversary).

    I love you so much!

    Becki

    • Becki, your comment makes me glad I spent the time I spent on this post. You are great at fulfilling the commandment to “encourage one another.” And I am learning from you, too. You have that “gentle and quiet spirit” that I am striving for but often struggling to have. Enjoy your date with Robert. It’s one of the best things you can do for your kids!

  3. Janice Hahn said:

    Thanks for sharing this with all of us. And it’s a wonderful journal of your 20th for years to come. I LOVE sunrises and sunsets and these were magnificent! I didn’t know you caught such a big fish!! 🙂 I’m thankful for you both, and that you stayed during the hard times and could enjoy the good times more fully. The children were terrific and a joy to have. May God give you many more years together.

    • Obviously this trip wouldn’t have happened without you! Thanks for making it possible. We were both able to relax and enjoy our time together, knowing the kids would be safe and happy there with you. Thanks, too, for the example of staying committed in your marriage! Love you!

  4. That’s my kind of celebration…minus the tent part. 🙂 You did a great job of capturing the beauty of God’s artistry in your photos. Love the flower growing on the rock. The fossil is amazing. And the scenery shots make me want to go there and experience it for myself. Congratulations to you and Troy on 20 years of marriage!

    • Thank you, Tracy. That is a great compliment, coming from you, the photographer! It’s easy to get great photos when surrounded by so much beauty.

  5. Looks like a wonderful trip! You both look great! Awesome photos! So glad to have the two of you in our lives!

  6. Looks (and sounds) like a picture perfect celebration! Congratulations. Those sunrises and sunsets are such beautiful and serene ways to begin and end your day with thoughts of God and all of His blessings He has given you. It’s amazing how nature can make you feel so much closer to Him. I’m glad you two had so much fun and created so many great memories. I’m sure the kids had a fabulous time, also. Our recent trip to Florida seemed to have more time spent with simple walks on the beach watching sunrises and sunsets and right at dark watching how many big crabs came in with the tide and chasing them to watch them make a big ‘puff’ and burrow themselves down in the sand. You’d think we were 10 yrs. old again! Simple pleasures are always the best! The beauty of God’s creation seems to bring on a time of reflection and realizing how blessed we are. Sounds like y’all had much time to do just that all while making more sweet memories. So happy for you both.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

