"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

I was tired. It had been a long, long day. (Sound familiar?) I wanted to go to bed, and was a little miffed that I still needed to do one more load of laundry before turning in for the night–after all, how many had I done already? I trudged toward the washing machine, and as I did so, I noticed that the dryer door was standing slightly ajar. I peeked inside…and found out why.

Although she’s not yet able to write out a sign saying, “Remington was here,” it wasn’t really necessary. Finding those cookies in the dryer put a grin on my face just when I needed the help, and I marveled at the way our children can make us smile even when they’re not around.

           Lately, I’ve been noticing that a smile on my face usually leads to a smile in my heart.

I started thinking about how blessed I am to have a washing machine and dryer to make the laundry burden easier.  I know my great grandmothers would have appreciated that blessing.

Not only that, but I have them right there in my home, to use any time I “want!” And I, of all people, should appreciate that. In our previous two homes, the washer and dryer were in the garage, so doing laundry was a hot, hot job. Back when we lived in The Netherlands, we had access to a washing machine and a dryer, but they took hours to get a single load done. The washing machine was on the first story of the building we lived in, and the dryer was on the second floor, while our closets and dressers were all on the third. I remember lugging those full baskets of wet laundry up the very steep stairs and wishing for a different setup. I was sure I’d appreciate it when I had it…

Back to today:

When I stop to think about it, I remember that the only reason I have so much laundry to do each week is that I have all my very favorite people living under one roof. How could I not be grateful?

So, today I will work on being thankful for every dirty dish (We always have plenty to eat!), every clump of dirt tracked in from the yard (My kids are healthy enough to run and play!) and yes, even for that giant mountain of laundry that never completely goes away.

Thanks, little Remi, for making me stop and think…and smile.

And thank YOU for stopping by!

Comments on: "One last smile before bed" (1)

  1. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

