"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

Now we are six

I’m a HUGE fan of A. A. Milne.  His Winnie-the-Pooh books contain so many quotable lines, like “Did you ever stop to think, and forget to start again?” and  “If you live to be a hundred, I want to live to be a hundred minus one day so I never have to live without you.”

If you, too, are a fan of his works, you’ll recognize the title of this scrapbook page as the title of one of Milne’s books of poetry. It’s what popped into my head as I looked at our bowling shoes in all different sizes, and it reminded me how much I love being part of a family of six. (I made this page just before Christmas. Journaling is below.)

Journaling reads:

I love having a family of six. I grew up in a family of six myself, and always wanted to have a big family some day. It makes me happy whenever I see signs of 6…Six plates at the table, six stockings hung, or—today—six colorful bowling balls and six pair of bowling shoes in a wide variety of sizes! 🙂 I thank God for making us six.

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "Now we are six" (7)

  1. Edy Cozort said:

    Cute page! Scrapbook question – how do you put your books together? Do you do themes, random pages, separate books, etc? I am trying to explore some new options and see what works best. Thanks 🙂

  2. Thanks, Edy! Here’s my system: For the first year of life (more or less), each child gets a separate scrapbook…Beyond that, everything is together in family albums, chronologically. I’ve been doing more pages that aren’t really about events (like the one in this post), but I still have them in my scrapbooks according to the date I took the pictures. There’s one BIG exception to my all-in-there-together system: I make a “yearbook” for each home school year, documenting all our field trips, what (in general) we studied that year, our first and last day of school, handwriting samples, science experiments, art projects, etc. Four kids produce lots of “stuff” so my solution is to take a picture, journal about the project, and include it in our yearbook. It makes it easier on all of us to be able to throw away something they worked hard on when we know we still have it preserved this way. Well, that was almost a whole post in itself, but hopefully it answers your question. 🙂

  3. One more thing in response to your question, Edy: Although my scrapbooks are arranged chronologically, that’s not how I work on them. I keep everything organized so that I can grab pictures/journaling notes/memorabilia for whatever mood strikes me. One day I might work on something that happened a dozen years ago in another country, and the next I might document something that happened last week. I use 3-ring albums so I can insert the pages in the right places without having to rearrange what’s already in there. I love the freedom of doing it this way! Again, the one exception is that for our home school yearbooks, I use post bound albums and I do create that year’s book before moving on to the next. Hope that all makes sense!

  4. Just thought of one more exception…I do occasionally make mini albums for special things like big trips.

    • Edy Cozort said:

      Thanks for the tips! That makes perfect sense to me. So far, for James, I have put everything in order from birth until 11 months (I’m 2 months behind). I haven’t decided how to do the rest of his book or stop there. My thought has been to only put in things special to him (birthday, special trips, etc) and then put family events (holidays) in the family albums. I’ve been leaning towards this idea because I want to be able to put together the same kind of book for future children that I did for James. I like the idea of doing a school year album – especially the throwing away but still having the memory.

      Where do you find 3 ring albums?

      • I buy almost ALL my scrapbooks at Hobby Lobby…when they’re half price, of course. 😉 You’re smart to keep things doable if you plan to have more children. You’ll have less and less time to keep up, especially once you start homeschooling. I’d love to see some of your pages!

  5. Edy Cozort said:

    Unfortunately, we don’t have a Hobby Lobby. We have Michael’s. I am not as impressed with their scrapbooking supply as I am with Hobby Lobby. Are you on Facebook? I could post some pictures of James’ book on there. It is one of my better books because I took more time and had access to a cricut machine. I still have LOTS of room to improve. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

