"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

What, exactly, is PTP?

Until a few years ago, I had no idea what Polishing the Pulpit was. Even then, when I first heard of it, I thought it was “just a preacher’s seminar.”  Now I know better…and I am so thankful. Our family  spent the past week in Sevierville, TN,  in the incredibly beautiful Great Smoky Mountains, attending an event that was definitely not just for preachers.

The printed program dubs PTP “a life-changing event to refresh the spirits” of all Christians…“a spiritual boost”…and that’s exactly what it was. While there, the same word kept popping into my head over and over: WOW!

122 speakers from 13 states

476 different classes in multiple tracks

2351 people in attendance

Not only were there class tracks for preachers, youth ministers, elders, and deacons; there were also tracks for teens, women, children, homeschoolers, Bible class teachers, members, widows, and Spanish speakers. Other tracks included marriage and family, small churches, evidences, missions, and technology.

Workshops were taught by doctors, lawyers, preachers, elders, professors, authors, politicians, and even a former atheist.

There were multiple singing sessions, lots of fellowship activities for the teenagers, and on-site shopping for all kinds of great resources. Opportunities were provided for marriage & family counseling and for job hunting, and there was a Song Leading School (for all ages) and a Future Preachers Training Class (for boys/young men).

WOW!

I am so thankful we had the opportunity to be a part of this incredible event. I’m thankful for what we learned. I’m thankful  for the fellow Christians we met for the first time and for the ones we got to spend time with once again. I’m thankful that our family was able to focus on growing in Christ all together, all week long.

WOW! If you are ever able to be a part of this event, I would HIGHLY recommend it. I know our family will never, ever forget it.

Come back tomorrow and I’ll be sharing some of the highlights of the week. Until then…

Thanks for stopping by!

Check out these other PTP-related posts:

What I learned at PTP–part 1

What I learned at PTP–part 2

What I learned at PTP–part 3

PTP Highlights

Traveling Smiles

Our Great Smoky Mountains Adventure

Comments on: "What, exactly, is PTP?" (4)

  1. Edy Cozort said:

    WOW is right! It was definitely an amazing week. I’m so glad I was able to visit with you on Wednesday night. I love the picture of the crowd – I see many people I know and love (including my husband!). Glad you had a safe trip home and we’ll be praying it works for you to come to RH.

    • Edy, I have a funny memory of carefully hiking my skirt up to climb up on a padded bench to take that crowd picture! I was sure hoping I didn’t fall and cause a scene! I hadn’t realized your husband was in the pic but I see him now. I just remember seeing all those good people pouring out of the ballrooms after the very last class and thinking, “I want to remember this.”

      • Edy Cozort said:

        What a memory! 🙂 If it had been me, I would have fallen off!! Do you mind sharing your pictures? I didn’t get quite as many as I would like for a scrapbook. All week long, I keep thinking about where I was this time last week at PTP and wishing I was back.

  2. […] was a kid at PTP, and his parents named him ‘WON’ […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

