"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

Labor Day musings

It’s a thankful kind of day. (Does that sound a little like something Winnie-the-Pooh might say? Well, it’s true.)

Today I’ve been thinking about how much I appreciate my hard-working husband, who labors all year long to provide for our family.

Today I’ve been thankful that he’s held down a steady job throughout the 20+ years of our marriage, and that he’s always been willing to shoulder that responsibility so that his children can have a mom at home. Today I am proud of him for continually trying to do his job better. Today I’m appreciating the career choice he’s made, even though I know it wasn’t an easy one.

He finished college with a degree in mass communications, public relations, and advertising. I earned mine in psychology. Between the two of us, we knew we’d soon be “rollin’ in the dough.”  I think a minister is the last thing he ever thought he’d become, and I certainly had no plans to marry one. (In fact, I’ll admit I stated quite the opposite intention on a number of different occasions.)

But I love that he ended up opting for this career. He chose it, not because it would ever make him wealthy and certainly not because it would be easy. (There’s no 9-to-5 weekday schedule and leave-it-all-at-the-office-when-you’re-done in this emotionally-taxing job.)  He was just grateful for his hope of heaven and wanted to point others in that direction, and he chose his career path accordingly.

Today I’m also feeling thankful for all those who labor in God’s Kingdom, whether

missionaries struggling in the field,

elders diligently watching over the souls of their congregation,

preachers willing to proclaim the sometimes-unpopular truth from the pulpit,

deacons serving quietly behind the scenes,

Bible class teachers spending hours in preparation out of love and concern for their students,

parents striving intentionally to teach, build, and nurture their families instead of “just coasting,” or

Christian men and women who busily do what needs to be done to meet the needs of those around them.

You may be feeling under-appreciated or even unnoticed, but my encouragement to all of you is to keep up your hard work, bearing this great promise in mind:

Let us not lose heart in doing good, for in due time we will reap if we do not grow weary. (Gal. 6:9)

Have you thanked someone for their labor today? If not, why not add that to your list of Labor Day activities?

Thanks for stopping by.

Comments on: "Labor Day musings" (2)

  1. Great thoughts, Amy! It is so funny that you said you wouldn’t marry a preacher. I said the same things, as well as not having kids before a certain age, doing a certain job, etc but God had other plans for me. 🙂

    What a good reminder to be thankful for those who are laboring in the Kingdom every day.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

