"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

Worth quoting

Song lyrics. Classic movie lines. Bible verses. Inside jokes. Who doesn’t love a good quotation?

Pinning down my favorites is hard, but I’m sharing a few here with you today. The catch is, though, I really-really-really want YOU to share your favorite(s) with me, too. Deal?

Here are just a few of the ones I love:

“Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the moments that take your breath away.” ~unknown

“It’s easy to say ‘no!’ when there’s a deeper ‘yes!’ burning inside.” ~Stephen R. Covey

“God doesn’t call the qualified. He qualifies the called.” ~unknown

“Remember WHO you are, and remember WHOSE you are.” ~my mom, before every date I went on in high school

And, my all time favorite…the one that gets me through each day: “‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'” ~Jeremiah 29:11

While it has nothing whatsoever to do with my favorite quotations, since I posted here about our trip to the pumpkin patch, I thought I’d follow up by saying that the kids carried their prize picks in through the front door and straight out the back, to get started on their carving projects.

Our picnic table may never be the same (We had a little talk afterward about the merits of a layer of newspaper) but they worked hard on their creations, and I’m thankful…because, at the risk of boasting, I must say that our front porch looks incredibly cute now!

Don’t forget to leave me a comment with your favorite quotation. (Thanks in advance!)

And thanks for stopping by.

Comments on: "Worth quoting" (12)

  1. Karen Scism said:

    An older lady gave me this one when I was sick with my cancer:

    I love today because I have seen yesterday and live for tomorrow and of course my all time favorite of dad’s “Life is GOOD.

  2. Mike James said:

    Amy, as you I have many as well. I’ll share three of them. “Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content.” Philippians 4:11 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13
    And, “Test all things; hold fast what is good.”
    1 Thessalonians 5:21

  3. I finally got caught up on your blog tonight. I really enjoyed seeing all of Addy’s creations, and love that you documented them with photos. You are the mama I look up to most, and I am so proud of what your kiddos are growing up to be.

    My favorite Bible verse lately is 2 Cor 4:18 “So we fix our eyes not on what what is seen but what is unseen since what is seen is temporary & what is unseen is eternal.”

    Fave quote lately: While we try to teach our children all about life,
    Our children teach us what life is all about.
    ~Angela Schwindt

  4. Kelcy Hahn said:

    One of my favorites is, “The red zone is for immediate loading and unloading of passengers only. The white zone…” Seriously, two that help me a lot: “I am an omni-nothing!” (helps me deny the I’ve-got-to-know-everything, be-everywhere, do-it-all impulse), “Fast is slow, slow is fast” (great perspective on building things that will last–they all take more time that we think they should).

    • Kelcy, I know we have a LOT of shared favorites in the movie-line department! Thanks for sharing the other two…I’ve never heard either and they’re both great food for thought. Thanks for chiming in. Love you!

  5. Julie Sutton Salek said:

    “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”
    – Maya Angelou

    “People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.”
    Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

    You don’t really understand human nature unless you know why a child on a merry-go-round will wave at his parents every time around – and why his parents will always wave back. ~William D. Tammeus

  6. Can’t remember where it came from,
    “People may not remember exactly what you did or what you said, but — they will always remember how you made them feel.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

