"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

I should have listened

She pranced into the room, smiling,  and tossed these at me.

Surely I’m not the only mom ever to use the “I’m-not-a-trash-can” line…right? But, she’s only two, so I held back on that one and responded instead with, “Remington! You know better than that! What do we do with our trash?”

She looked up at me with those big green eyes…a little puzzled, a little dejected…but her tentative smile remained as she explained, “Oh, Mommy, those aren’t trash! Those are your notes!” Now, I was the puzzled one. She went on.

“Those are cards. They say, ‘Thank you, Mommy, for letting me eat my own chocolate out of my own bucket. I love you so much!’

Ouch.

I immediately remembered the lesson we’d had in Bible class less than two days before on being quick to listen and slow to speak. Once again, here was one of my children driving the point home for me.

I know toddlers don’t have as many communications options at their fingertips, and I wish I would have listened first, before jumping in with a lesson on proper trash disposal. She was expressing love. I should have listened. (As my teenagers would say…FAIL.)

I know I’m not the only one who fails in this area (or struggles with parent-guilt). I’m glad for the reminder to listen–really listen–first, then speak. I need to do this more with my husband. I need to do this with ALL my children. I need to do this with everyone I interact with, just as I want everyone else to do for me.

Thanks, little Remi, for this reminder. I love your sweet notes, and they’re definitely not going in the trash.

Thanks for stopping  by!

Comments on: "I should have listened" (6)

  1. You are both precious and blessed to have each other. Great reminder. Love you.

  2. Ellen Tidwell said:

    Awwww! What a sweet reminder and object lesson!!

  3. How appropriate that Remi’s notes literally have “KISSES” all over them.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

