"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

Ready to give thanks

Yesterday my toddler heard me wishing a stranger a happy Thanksgiving, and looked at me, surprised. “Are they going to thanks give, too?”

“Yes, Sweetie, it’s not just our holiday.”

This morning, all four of the kids got in on the Thanksgiving preparations, with the girls making turkeys to decorate the table and everyone making treats to snack on throughout the day. Well, almost everyone…

Yes, that’s how we kept the toddler busy. She also had the big job of handing whoever needed one a Whopper, or, as she called them, wabbers. She took her job very seriously.

We used those wabbers, along with Oreos, candy corns, and frosting to make these funny little turkey cookies.

(I got the recipe here.)

We also made these cute Pilgrim hat cookies, using the discarded Oreo halves from the previous recipe, along with Reese’s peanut butter mini-cups, Reese’s Pieces for the buckles, and frosting for glue.

These were super easy and fast. Even the toddler could make them. (I got the recipe here.)

Then, we did Peanut Butter Pumpkins, which have no pumpkin in them and taste just like the inside of a Reese’s cup.

We just made the dough, rolled it into balls, and used the side of a toothpick to press the sides to make pumpkin lines. We added green gel frosting for the stems and vines. (I found the recipe here.)

They’re all ready for the trip to Grandma’s house tomorrow.

We also have some cute table decorations ready to go. Our first project was one we started yesterday, when we added a different color of paint to each baggie, threw in some plain golf tees, and let the girls goosh them around until they were covered.

We spread them out and let them dry overnight…

…and then today the girls had fun poking the “feathers” into balls of Play-Doh.

Here’s Addy’s finished turkey:

And here’s little Remi’s:

(I got the idea here.)

Then we moved on to another project, in which we poked holes in our little baby pumpkins (with a nail) and stuck some craft feathers in.

Here’s what Remi came up with:

And here’s Addy’s “fancy” version:

"Sisters"

(I adapted this project from here.)

While Addy was finishing her turkeys, I let Remi use my little scrapbooking hammer to pound the leftover golf tees into a little pumpkin that was past its prime. It was a big hit—pun intended. 🙂

Happy Thanksgiving to each of you!  Forget counting calories, and spend the whole day counting your blessings.

  “His divine power has given us everything we need…”  (II Peter 1:3a)

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "Ready to give thanks" (9)

  1. Love the crafts! I keep bookmarking every one you have so I can remember to do them with James. 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. Such neat ideas – I wish I’d read this sooner.

    • Thanks, Karen! I have very few original ideas 🙂 but I love adapting what I find to make it work for us. (Usually that means simplifying a bit…) You can plan lots of fun with the grandkids next Thanksgiving…

  3. Ginger Alexander said:

    Amy,
    You are making such great memories with your children! Aside the messes and exhaustion of the day you all will have such a smile of memories for years to come. SO, thankful for Moms like you who take time to share why we give thanks.
    Blessings ~ Ginger Alexander

    • Ginger, thank you for your sweet words. You are right about the messes (and the exhaustion) but also about the memories. I love seeing the kiddos get into these kinds of projects. And I’m thankful to moms like you for encouraging moms like me! 🙂

  4. Those turkey with the golf tees and the feathers are awesome! Sure made me smile..big!

    • Thanks, Cindy. We took them to “Grandma’s house” for the big day and every time I glanced at them it made me smile. Glad they made you smile, too! 🙂

  5. […] (If you need last-minute ideas for Thanksgiving crafts, snacks, and activities, see this post.) […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

