"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

Hooray for the big switch-up!

I’ve been thinking for some time now that I’d like to have a day where our school was less “school-y” and more fun. Well, today was the day, and I think it was a big success because I heard all three older kids say it was “the best school day ever.” Music to my ears…

Here’s what we had for lunch:

This was my adaptation of an idea I got here. I added the “fall leaves” he’s standing in after Chandler specifically requested some Cheez-Its. I thought that was pretty clever; I think Chan thought it was kind of hokey, but he gobbled it up with a smile, and the other kids all seemed duly impressed. (Good enough for me!)

I dropped some of their usual subjects and replaced all the rest with still-somewhat-educational-but-WAY-more-fun assignments. For the teenagers, instead of the usual biology, history, Spanish, algebra, etc. they had these assignments:

1. Choose a plane in The World’s Greatest Paper Airplane Book and (both) make it. Have a contest to see whose flies farthest. Repeat with a different style of plane.

2. Create a centerpiece or other table decoration for Thursday’s feast using the medium of your choice.

Clay cornucopia with pumpkin and fall leaves

Origami turkey

3. Choose three Bible verses about thankfulness to share at our family devotional tonight.

4. Play Free Rice for 15 minutes.

5. Do a Sudoku puzzle.

6. Make a list of 20 things you’re thankful for. Illustrate at least one.

7. Play catch with your brother for 20 minutes.

8. Read your current lit book.

It was fun hearing their shouts of joy as they discovered their unusual assignments (and when they found the cashew brittle I’d put in their workboxes for a special snack.)

My fourth grader got to drop subjects like math, science, and creative writing, and do these assignments instead:

1. Make turkey crafts.

2. Do Mad Libs with me.

3. Make leaf people.

4. Choose any page in Super Bible Activities.

5. Put together the World Map Puzzle.

6. Draw something with the color-mixing markers.

7. Practice the piano.

8. Knit.

Addy shrieked when she saw her “schoolwork” for the day, and she totally got into the fall crafts. Here are some of the leaf people she made. Meet Leaf…

…and Little Alien…

…and the three Spikey siblings.

(Not pictured here is Melvin, who looks suspiciously like Joy but is supposedly unrelated.) I got the idea to do leaf people here and here.

Afterward, she asked to paint a good old, classic, hand-print turkey.

And what were the toddler’s “assignments” today?

1. Go outside and collect some fallen leaves in pretty colors. (She LOVED this, and in the middle of gathering them, she looked up and smiled at me and said, “We’re having a great day!”)

2. Make your own version of leaf people.

3. Trace your hands and add 3-D materials like dry beans & macaroni noodles and cut-up autumn leaves. (She loved playing with liquid glue, as she usually only uses a glue stick.) I love that she has totally missed the turkey concept and is giving both hands fingernails…

We did have to have a little talk about not gluing things to our own skin…

Here’s her finished product…We never did turn the hand prints into turkeys; instead, she added some “words” to the page. I’m not sure what those random eyes are all about, or whether all that glue will be dry any time in the next week or so.  (This idea was adapted from here.)

I think this fun break was good for all of us, and I see another switcheroo coming up before Christmas.

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "Hooray for the big switch-up!" (8)

  1. Amy, I’d love to send my grandbabies to your home-school – I’d like to attend myself!

  2. Love it! Thanks for sharing your day with all of us!

    • Thanks, Melissa. I thought someone else might need encouragement to take it easy once in a while. I can be a slave driver and forget that we all need a break sometimes.

  3. So much fun! Thanks for sharing these great ideas! Love those leaf people.

  4. Wonderful ideas and so fun to read about and see the pictures!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

