"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

Stop the clock!

Recently I was on the answering end of an old question: “If you could choose any superpower to have at your disposal, what would it be?” And I didn’t have to think twice about my answer.

Forget about having the ability to fly. Forget about being invisible.  If I could choose a superpower, it would definitely be the ability to suspend time.

Most days, 24 hours just doesn’t seem like enough time to get done with all I “need” to accomplish. I often wish I could stop the clock, do what I need to do, and still be able to get a good night’s sleep.  (Hey, I can dream…)

What about you? What superpower would you choose?  I’d love to hear it in the comments.

“Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise,

making the most of your time…”  (Ephesians 5:15-16)

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "Stop the clock!" (8)

  1. Ellen Tidwell said:

    I can definitely say without a doubt, my power would be to have the ability to stop time too! Except my reasoning is slightly different. I enjoy each and every stage my kids go thru but there are times I wish their growing up would SLOW DOWN! I’m trying to keep up, but it is happening all too quickly! I can dream too… 🙂

    • Ellen, that would be priceless! I agree, it all goes by too fast, and I wish they’d grow up slower, too. I hope you enjoy each moment today with this on your mind. Thanks for reminding me to do the same! 🙂

  2. Mike James said:

    Amy, if I could have one superpower I would choose the ability to control the tongue.
    James chapter 3 speaks to how uncontrollable it is. It must take a superpower to control it because James 3:8 says
    “But the tongue can no man tame; it is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.

    Thanks for making me think about it. I love the posts. Keep up the great job. Love, Mike

  3. Hmm? Just one superpower? Lol!
    No more fear, no more procrastination. I would always be courageous and “go for it” in the name of the Lord! And without a plink of hesitation live fully in Philippians 4:13. I’m so glad you asked!:)

  4. Melissa, so nice to meet another procrastinator! 😉 I love Phil. 4:13, too,

    As far as fear, I want to share with you something my mom did that helped her. She was going through a time where it was especially difficult not to be afraid. She decided that every time she came across a passage that dealt with fear during her daily reading, she’d make a note of it in the back of her Bible, thinking she’d have a few verses to help her through. She now has pages of references! I guess it shows God has a lot to say about it, knows we’ll struggle with it, and wants to help us with it. You might want to try it, and maybe start w/ II Tim. 1:7?

    Thanks so much for your comment! You have great goals that we all need to work on.

  5. I think I’d like to be able to wiggle my nose like Samantha Stevens in Bewitched – have all the housework done with just a twitch! I’d also like to be able to remove all the calories from my meals so I could eat whatever I wanted and not get fat!! And – I’d like to be able to apparate like Harry Potter – just turn around and be anywhere I wanted to be – I’d go see my mom and dad more often.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

