"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

On being content

We don’t have an expensive stereo system in our home…but I am sure enjoying listening to the Christmas tunes emanating from my little one’s Dora the Explorer CD player.

We have a small tree that won’t win any beauty contests…but it was chosen as a family and joyfully decorated by our children with ornaments received as gifts from friends around the world, and it makes me smile every time I catch a glimpse of it.

I made a lot of my own gifts this year in order to include everyone I wanted to give to…but I am so excited about each and every one of them and thoroughly enjoyed putting together things I thought others might enjoy.

During this season there’s a whole lot of wishing and wanting going on. I think it’s important to stop and think about all that we have to be grateful for. It’s important to be content. Is that what we’re teaching our children? Is that what we’re practicing ourselves?

Today, let’s appreciate where we are and what we have. I think it will make us all smile!

P.S. This year, for the first time ever, I let the kids do ALL the decorating in our house. I set out the boxes, let them go for it, and didn’t change a thing.  Here’s a little glimpse of what they did:

Most of the decorations were clustered along the bar and on a couple of living room tables, but Addy proudly showed me that she had decorated the island, too:

Here was Remi’s contribution:

It says, "Dear Mommy, I love you so much!"

And, although not specifically for Christmas, this little guy has recently become a part of our living room decor, too:

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

