"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

Angry birds, happy kids

It was Christmas Eve morning and I wanted to make a special brunch for the kiddos. My friend, Angela, had posted a picture on Facebook that morning of some cute pancakes she’d decorated with whipped cream. Alas, I didn’t have a bit of whipped cream in the house, and there was NO WAY I was going to the store on Christmas Eve.

But I headed to the pantry to explore my options, and found that I DID have a few chocolate chips…and some Oreos (Could they work?)…and some orange slice candy which we’ve NEVER had in our house before but which had found their way into my daughter’s stocking this year and would be just perfect to use on this project. So I went with what I had, and this is what I came up with:

Angry Birds Pancakes

Pin It

Before I went up to call the kids, I turned on the game on my phone and turned the music up really loud. Then I ran upstairs, screaming, “What’s that? What IS that noise?” The kids ran down to help me investigate, and their big eyes and the smiles on their faces (even the teenagers!) when they saw their brunch made it worth every bit of my effort.

P.S. My husband said they looked more like angry chickens, and I have to agree with him…but the kids knew what it was SUPPOSED to be and they were happy, so my goal was met.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

