"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

One magical night

When I was about eight or nine years old, I had the opportunity to go with my Girl Scout troop to see a performance of The Nutcracker put on by the Houston Ballet. I remember gazing around the venue with mouth agape, wide-eyed at how huge and fancy the place was. I remember feeling so grown up to be able to be there.

As pleasant as they still are, the memories of that long-ago trip pale in comparison to the magical night I just spent watching the same ballet performance with my own nine-year-old daughter.

We’d given Addison two tickets to The Nutcracker for Christmas, along with the promise that it would be a special girls’ night out for just the two of us. I’m pretty sure I’ve been looking forward to it just as much as she has, and neither of us was disappointed.

Earlier in the day her sweet grandma took her shopping for a special, new dress to wear.

We left the rest of the family home with a movie and some delicious frozen food 🙂 so that we could go out somewhere “fancy” that she’d never been before.

I told her we’d share a meal but that she could choose what she wanted to eat. Without thinking twice, she opted for “those little squid thingies” (calamari) and we enjoyed sharing them at a quiet table for two.

As I knew she would be, Addy was absolutely thrilled to be sitting up in the balcony during the performance. (What I was unprepared for was the fact that I, on the other hand, would be freaking out about how high we were.  Ugh. The things we do for our kids…)

I feel quite confident that those of you who are parents will understand exactly what I’m talking about when I say that, while we always love our children, there are some times that we are with them and our hearts just swell up almost to the point of bursting with everything we feel for them. And I’ll admit it—I had that swollen-heart syndrome all evening. Our Addy is always sweet, but last night the smile never left her face and she thanked me about, oh, 496 times or so throughout the evening.

It was as if we’d hung the moon for her, and her appreciation made it even more fun. I think our mother-daughter date was absolutely perfect, and I can’t wait to be able to take another one! I love this little girl…

What special, one-on-one activities have you done (or would you like to do) with your child or grandchild? I’d love to hear about them in the comments below! Even more, I’d like to encourage you today to not wait for a special occasion to carve out a little quiet time with a child you love. You’ll both be glad you did.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

