"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

My criminal daughter

Poor girl. She was so shaken up—so riddled with guilt—that she couldn’t even face us to make her confession in person. We found the note on her pillow:

"I did not mean to do this, read top of tag!---Addy"

Next to it, and no longer attached to the pillow, was the evidence of her crime:

"Under penalty of law this tag not to be removed..."

So there she was, only nine years old and quaking in her boots. How do I know she was scared half to death, imagining a life in prison with nothing but bread and water and the sound of rats scurrying by? Easy. When I was her age, I removed the tag from the hair dryer.

(Shhhhhhh…..)

Thanks for stopping by.

Comments on: "My criminal daughter" (14)

  1. Edy Cozort said:

    Aw! 🙂 (P.S. – Notice the “except by the consumer” part).

  2. Ellen Tidwell said:

    This is a hoot!!! I remember taking the tag off my mattress when I was her age. I cried!! Lol

  3. Rebecca Christopoulos said:

    Awe… poor Addy, I can just image what she put herself through.

  4. Remind to tell you the story of Grace and the cops 🙂
    Tell Addy that I still get nervous about removing those tags!

  5. I take great pleasure in removing those tags! (now that I know what “Consumer” means) This was cute! Years ago Melissa came home from school with a note pinned to her little dress that read “Your daughter has destroyed school property”. We called the school and found out she’d colored on a brand new carpet during naptime. The janitor had cleaned it up so all was forgiven. A few years later we’re all at the movie theater watching “The Black Cauldron” and she bursts into tears, climbs up on her Daddy’s lap and says “Dad, remember when colored on the carpet? well, I colored on the underneath side of the table, too!”

  6. Seriously LAUGHING OUT LOUD!!!!

  7. LOL!! 50 lashes with a wet noodle!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

