"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

It’s not about me

I woke up this morning to a house that’s a wreck. No, that’s too mild. It’s an absolute disaster. I checked the library website to find I have exactly 25 overdue library books. Yes, you read that right. TWENTY-FIVE! My laundry is overflowing.  I have about 33 hours worth of stuff to do in the next 24, and I don’t know how I’m going to get it all done.

All of that is just the tip of the iceberg. I won’t go into the BIG stresses here. Let’s just say they’re definitely there, and they’re causing the smaller ones to pile up around me.  Some days/weeks/months are just tougher than others, and this happens to be one of them for me.

I thought about all this in the first few minutes of being awake. Then, as I opened my Bible and looked over my prayer list, I realized something. There are a whole lot of people out there who have much bigger problems than I. And while I’m certainly not glad about that, it does slap me in the forehead enough to make me realize that I need to quit worrying about MY stress and start focusing on how I can help other people get through theirs.

As I think further on the subject, I’m also reminded of just how much I have to be thankful for. My life now, even with all the trouble that comes with it, is better than I could have ever imagined, and certainly much, much better than I deserve. So today, I’m going to try to smile through the stress, to lean on the One who assures me of this:

“I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” (Phil. 4:13)

I’m so glad it’s not about me!

UPDATE: Not fifteen minutes after I typed these words, I realized I’d left my phone in the car and went to retrieve it. Phone, meet Pavement. Pavement, Phone. Good-bye, Phone. I’ll reeeeaaaally miss you.  (Of course, I just gave away my upgrade last month.) Sigh.

Then, while cooking dinner tonight, I had two pans sitting on the stove. One was ready to go into the 425-degree oven, but when I went to put it in, I accidentally grabbed the other one instead…the one that had just come out. I actually picked it up with my bare hand before realizing.

So I’ll just keep reminding myself: Things could always be much, much worse.

I hope your day’s been better!

Thanks for stopping by.

Comments on: "It’s not about me" (14)

  1. Bill Fields said:

    I have extra phones if you need one – just let me know what plan you have and I will look at the office

  2. Bless your heart – I’ve had days like that too – if you search the internet, you might find a site that will sell you a new face for your phone…..Gene dropped his I-pad on the tile floor and shattered the screen and he was able to get a new screen for it and replace it himself.

  3. Debbie Campbell said:

    Hi Amy. You are dealing with alot. But you have the right mind set and attitude. Just laugh through it and keep thinking yes it could be worse. That is how I am handling alot of changes within the Company I work for. Just trying to stay upbeat. And staying positive and it is working for me. I take my concerns to God in prayer and remind myself God is control. Bless You!

  4. Last week, I lost a diamond out of my wedding ring. This week, I dropped my CAMERA and broke it!!!!! But somehow I haven’t been upset enough to even tell many people. You are right, we are blessed and have to remember that…even on days like this. Love you.

  5. Edy Cozort said:

    Oh Amy! I am so sorry that it has been stressful. I wish I was close by so I could come give you a hug and then help. James loves to “help” with laundry. 🙂 I hope your hands are okay. Praying for you.

  6. OUCH!! How is your hand? I know that must’ve hurt.

    I’ve had plenty of days like that, too. And yet, we always manage to get find the time to get online & blog anyway, don’t we? 🙂

    This blog post reminds me of an email I read some time back from a friend that said things like, “I’m thankful for the taxes I have to pay because it means I have a job. I’m thankful for the piles of dirty laundry I need to do because it means I & my family have clothes to wear. I thankful for the lady who sings off key behind me in church because is means I can hear…” And it went on, putting a thankful heart on otherwise negative items in our lives. I guess we do have to keep our attitudes in the right place at all times, don’t we?

    (Still…sorry about your phone.)

    • Thanks, Lexie. Thankfully, my hand is fine. And while I am sure missing my phone, it reminds me that things are just things and they are temporary. Thanks for sharing the info from the e-mail…great thoughts.

  7. Amy Worlow said:

    Thank you for sharing your crazy days and setbacks. There are some of us (me!) who feel everyone else has it together and we are the only ones dealing with laundry, dirty homes and piles of dishes, etc. It is actually an encouragement to know that we all deal with days like this and that we can help each other make it through. I hope your hands are ok, love you!

    • Thanks, Amy. If we could all be flies on each others’ walls, we might all feel better! Except for the whole part about being flies….Eeewww…
      🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

