"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

Best. Muffins. Ever.

I must admit that I’m always baffled when I hear someone say, “I love to bake.” Really? Personally, I equate baking with a(nother) giant mess in the kitchen, and we have enough of those already. Therefore, a baker I am not.

Or, maybe I should say, I WAS not. Because everything changed when my friend and culinarian extraordinaire, Melissa, made me some Pumpkin-Butterscotch Mini-Muffins. I should say she made them for our family, but I’m pretty sure nobody else even got to try that first batch, because once I tasted them I couldn’t quit. They are amazing. Which means I am now in the kitchen–BAKING–quite often.

Best. Muffins. Ever.

These things are SO easy—you don’t even have to break out your mixer! My whole family goes crazy over them each time I make them. One recipe makes 48 mini-muffins, and I’m ashamed to say that the kids and I eat every single one of them in one sitting. (Our good intentions of “saving some for Daddy” turn out to be just that.) Nothing gets them out of bed faster in the morning than knowing these are in the oven.

I’m not going to make a public confession of just how often I make these, but I will say I keep a steady supply of canned pumpkin and butterscotch chips in the pantry now, and all the other ingredients are things we always have on hand. Oh, and here’s what your pan will look like if your three-year-old decides to help out with the baking:

I hope you love them, too!

Pumpkin-Butterscotch Mini-Muffins

(makes 48)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter

1 cup canned pumpkin

2 eggs

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 package (6 oz.) butterscotch chips

Directions:

(Preheat oven to 350 degrees.)

1. Try not to eat too many of the butterscotch chips before you get them into the muffins. (Good luck.)

2. Melt the butter in a microwave-proof bowl. Add eggs and pumpkin and mix all together.

3. In a separate bowl, mix all the dry ingredients. (Don’t add the chips just yet.)

4. Slowly stir dry mix into pumpkin mix. Now you can add the butterscotch chips.

5. Spray a mini-muffin pan and fill each cup about 3/4 full with batter.

6. Bake about 10 minutes or so in a 350-degree oven. (Check with a toothpick to make sure they’re done.)

7. Enjoy the compliments of your happy family and the way the house smells now while you chow down on your mini-muffins.

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "Best. Muffins. Ever." (8)

  1. I can attest to these being delicious. We enjoyed the ones you baked for us very much!

  2. I’m so glad! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I was going to bake up a batch since I am home with a sick Jensen, but don’t have any sugar. What? Why don’t I have sugar??? I may try a sugar substitute….I’ll let you know how that works out! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Sound so yummy! I love anything pumpkin!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

