"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

From where I stand

I was waiting on my little one to finish up her afternoon snack. She was strapped into her booster seat, babbling away as she ate, and I was too tired to even sit down.  (Been there?) I leaned up against the kitchen island, just staring off into space at first. But then, the view in the mirror in front of me came into focus and I began to think. No, I wasn’t looking at the smudges—in fact, I didn’t even see them at the time. What I saw instead was how much I have to be thankful for.

From where I stood, I could see the little antique sewing machine that belonged to my mother when she was a little girl, and I thought once again that I have been blessed with the best and sweetest mom in the whole world. I can’t imagine how different my life would be without her godly influence and fun personality. I stood there, thankful for her and the rest of my sweet family.

Next to that on the bar sits the row of little Dutch houses I brought back from The Netherlands. Seeing them reminded me of the years we lived there, the work we were blessed to do, and the amazing people we had the privilege of knowing while there. I miss those friends, and I’m always a little wistful when I think about those days, but today I was just thankful that we had such a unique opportunity and that we have a gazillion great memories of our time in Holland.

As I continued to stare into the mirror, I noticed the clear clothes hanger dangling from the ceiling fan. (Can you see it?) There seems to be one hanging there just about every day. Sometimes I get so used to them I don’t even notice them, and when I do it’s not something that makes me smile….but today I looked down below it in the mirror and saw the empty kitchen sink, and noted that the same person who’d left the hanger on the fan had also washed all the dishes, without my asking. And that DOES make me smile!

From where I stood, I also had a glimpse of the back yard. I could see the corner of the porch swing Troy gave me one Mothers Day, and beyond that the trampoline where the kids (and we) have spent many happy hours laughing and bouncing. I was thankful that, for the most part, our children have been healthy. They are able to play, and we have plenty of sunshine to enjoy around here.

Yes, I was exhausted. But now I was also thankful. So many reasons to be grateful were found just in that one moment’s view.

So, here’s my challenge for you today. Take a look around, wherever you are.  Pick a direction, look straight ahead, and notice—really notice—the things that surround you.  Let them remind you of how much you have to be grateful for.  It’s just one more way to count our blessings, and that’s just one more reason to smile.  I’d love to hear what you see from where YOU stand.

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "From where I stand" (9)

  1. Thank you Amy…… it’s the little things we takd for granted on a daily basis. There is always someone that has it worse than we do. 🙂

  2. Rebecca Christopoulos said:

    Thank you Amy; I love to read everything you write. It is so inspiring to me. I am still at work (by myself) & it is nice & quiet here with plenty of time to look around & think. Yes I am so thankful for life, thankful that I have a JOB, & thankful that I have my Christian Family that I can turn to when needed.

  3. Well, I’m not standing at the moment, but from where I am I can hear my daughter and her family as they visit downstairs and I’m thankful that my kids found Godly husbands and are raising Godly children. I’m also watching my husband eating a cracker and I’m grateful for a loving, Christian man who takes good care of all of us. Thanks Amy, for reminding me to look at my world with a grateful heart.

  4. Thank you, Karen, for sharing these great reasons to smile.

  5. Amy, I am thankful but maybe not so much for myself, but that God was good enough to take care of my family. My Mother who he took 20 yrs ago today to be with Him, knowing that she no longer hurts. Yesterday was Dad’s 95th birthday had he lived, but God was good enough to call him home Sept of 2006. He knew his life wasn’t the quality he wanted. He didn’t even know me for at least 3 weeks before he went to be with the Love of his life, his wife. April 15th will be another big day. That is the day God called my brother home in 1984. 28 yrs ago. I know all 3 are happy and together with no more pain and waiting for me to join them along with all the many others. All of Mom’s brothers and sisters are with her now. There were 16 of them. All but one sister of Dad’s brothers and sisters are with him. There were 10 of them. I feel blessed to have my health still. And that I have a large family following behind me. My 13th great grandson is due in June. Mike will be Grandpa to 7 of those. I am blessed and feel thankful every day for the 2 sons that live next to me and 45 mins away from me. I am blessed to have 4 kids and 12 grandkids and almost 13 great grandkids. I smile at your blog. I love to follow your daily doings. I am very grateful to have a house to live in and a car to drive and that I can still drive. I have good friends who keep in touch and worry about me as I do them. I will soon be 71. That age used to sound soooo old. I am there now and I don’t feel that old most of the time. I may be a crazy old woman sometimes, but I am at peace and feel grateful I am ok. Or I think I am ok.

    • Jana, I am glad you found so many things to be thankful for. It’s easy to get going once we get started, huh? 🙂

      • Amy, I know that is probably not the usual thing people are thankful for, but that is how I was feeling that day. I figure they must be happy and contented now since I have not seen Keith in many years, or felt Mom’s hand on my shoulder or had Dad change my tv to a spanish station. I miss them so much. Renee said one time that if Mom was still alive she wouldn’t be in some of the messes she gets into. But just knowing they are alright now is ok. Just the circle of life. And there is a reason for almost everything that does happen to those that believe. And yes, it is very easy to get started.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

