"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

Chocolate medicine

I’ll be the first to admit it: When all four kids are sick at once, the proverbial silver lining can seem pretty elusive. But today I determined to find it anyway, and here it is:

*Having everyone sick at once is actually better, in some ways, than spreading out the misery. If we’re having to cancel activities and stay home, we might as well get this over with all at once!

*It is forcing us (ME!) to s-l-o-w  down and giving us a mandatory break from our hectic schedule.

*I reminds me to be thankful that we have good doctors close by and medicine readily available.

*I’m also reminded how blessed I am to have such great people in my life, like the sweet friend who brought over an amazing spread so I wouldn’t have to cook dinner tonight. (Thank you, Debbie!) And then there’s the thoughtful group of ladies at church who were prepared for just such an occasion and provided us lunch yesterday, literally within minutes of finding out we had sick ones. (Thanks, sweet friends!)

*We declared a day off school today so everyone could rest and heal, and letting the kids sleep in gave me a chance to do the same.

*I have a husband who is willing to help out when he can.

*And to top it all off, I was able to enjoy this conversation with my three-year-old (the sickest of them all) when she first woke up this morning:

“Hey, Mommy, do you think we should share some B-H-Y? That spells chocolate. Did you know that eating chocolate in bed helps little children get healthy again?”

I told her I hadn’t realized that, but assured her I did indeed want her to get better, and gave her a little piece of chocolate. When she was done, she handed me this…

…and said sincerely, “Here, Mommy. Do you want to make a scrapbook page out of this?” (She went on to ask if I knew how to write “I love you” on candy wrappers.)

We all have hard days, hard weeks, and more. But there is ALWAYS something to smile about and be thankful for. Sometimes we just have to search a little deeper.

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "Chocolate medicine" (8)

  1. I’m a mom to 3 little ones, and I’m a scrapbooker. That last part just melted my heart! 🙂

  2. Hey, Leah, thanks for your comment! I’d love to hear any tips on how to find time to scrapbook when you have little ones…I struggle with that! My kiddos provide me w/ lots of great stories and photo ops, but I can’t seem to find a way to scrapbook them. Help?

  3. Rebecca Christopoulos said:

    Awe, I just love that Remi; did not know you were all sick, will definitely keep you in my prayers & yes… you know I am in tears. If you need ANYTHING just call or txt me, I love you all.

  4. I don’t know that I have a whole lot of tips. I actually haven’t scrapped at home since last September. I go to a ladies craft night, the first Friday of every month, and this has been my only time to scrap as of late. I am a night owl, so that’s usually when I would fit it in. Im hoping to get back to it regularly, but it is most definitely hard when we juggle so many things!

    • Thanks for that idea, Leah. Going “out” may very well be the best solution at this stage…although when I go to a crop, I usually spend the whole time visiting and get very little done! 😉

  5. Hi, April! I’m April V.’s friend and she recommended your blog to me sometime back! I really enjoy your positive attitude and outlook on life! Hope you’re having a great week! 🙂

    • Hi, Leah. It’s nice to “meet” you. I’m glad April sent you over and that you’ve enjoyed this blog. Thanks for letting me know! I’ll check yours out, too…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

