"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

Affected

I guess it’s impossible for a young child to NOT be affected by living in a home where three older children are being homeschooled daily. But the reminders of these effects pop up at unexpected times…

…like while we were watching a family movie which showed a grown man sitting at a table, writing in a book. Remington, our three-year-old, glanced at him and shrugged one shoulder, then stated matter-of-factly, “He’s doing his science.”

This morning she said to me, “Mommy, I want to take a walk with you. I want to go into a field. So we can have a field trip.”

I can always tell when Remi has been “helping” me fill the other kids’ workboxes…

This morning I found the generous donation of a tube of Chapstick in one. I often find a small board book inside, which she has graciously decided to share with her siblings, who actually enjoy finding these little surprises–this evidence she was thinking about them.  Looking back, I realize that she’s been doing this ever since she could stand by herself!

I once asked her to tell me what the big kids do all day. Here was her answer:

They do school! They write, and do their science, and grammar.                                                                                                                                            They listen to music and look at their no-picture books. They get drinks.                                                                                                                               And they play with me for a few minutes. Because they love me.

The fact that she recognizes that her older siblings are not too busy for her makes me so happy!  I love that she gets that the reason they occasionally take breaks to play with her is that they truly love her, and love having her around.

Thinking back even further, I remember a statement my oldest son made when he was eight years old. Addison had just started wanting to “do school” with us, and I was worried about how frustrating I thought it must be for Chandler to have his 2-year-old sister underfoot while he was working. She  always wanted to be involved in whatever we were doing…

My concern dissipated when Chandler smiled at her and said (to me), “I can’t imagine if we had to leave her all day long. We’d miss all the funny things she says and does. We’d miss HER.

So, I guess we’re all affected by this incredible lifestyle. And I am thankful.

What are you thankful for today?

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "Affected" (12)

  1. I am thankful for YOU & your wonderful message that you put out with such love & thoughtfulness

    • Oh, Rebecca, you are too sweet. By the way, did you get the phone call? Remi was pretending to call you tonight on her little toy phone. Y’all talked a long time! 🙂

  2. I am thankful for this wonderful lifestyle too! What a great blog post! Thanks for sharing and making me smile it reminds me of my own family 🙂

  3. Amy, I look forward to your blogs….you warm my heart with every post! What a precious, precious family you’re raising!

    • Thank you, Karen! Your kind words motivate me to keep writing even when I struggle to find the time and energy to do so. Thank you for that!

  4. Love this! We know exactly what you’re going through! 🙂

  5. Dana Martin said:

    What a doll! Who wouldn’t want to take “breaks” with that sweet little girl? Thanks for letting her spend time with us. She and Carson had so much fun and such interesting conversations. I loved how she schooled him on using his table manners. He continues to remind himself to chew with his mouth closed, just like Remi taught him….maybe she needs to come back and do some more schooling!

    • Oh, my, I hope she was sweet about that! She loves to be the “teacher.” She always looked forward to that time with Carson. Thanks for letting her hang out!

  6. She is adorable! Something funny-the comment I just replied to you on my site was about this very same thing, having the children home. Have a lovely weekend!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

