"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

In dressing for a funeral this morning, I donned a strand of pearls. My ten-year-old daughter looked at me, surprised, and asked, “Are those real?”

I laughed. “Umm…no.”

“Oh, right,” she said. “If those were real they’d cost a fortune.”

I laughed again and replied, “And I don’t have a fortune.”

It took each of us just a fraction of a second to realize the fallacy in that statement. Because the truth is, I do have a fortune.

I have a faithful, Christian husband whom I love and respect.

He is an amazing daddy to these four precious kiddos:

I adore each of them, and feel incredibly blessed to be able to spend my days learning right alongside them.

I have parents who love me and taught me to love God.

I have friends I enjoy and friends I miss.

I lived in a country so great that men have been willing to give their lives for her.

I have plenty to eat, plenty to wear, and plenty to keep me busy.

I have more books than I can read and more happy memories than anyone deserves to have.

I have opportunities to serve and teach, and the ability and desire to learn.

I have role models whom I look up to.

I have a healthy body and a healthy family.

More important than any of these, I have the hope and expectation of eternal salvation because Jesus loved me enough to give His life for me.

For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though He was rich, yet for your sake He became poor, so that you through His poverty might become rich.  (II Corinthians 8:9)

So yes, I have a fortune!

My life isn’t perfect, but I’ve been given so much to treasure.

How about you? Have you thought today about all you have to be thankful for? Your list may be different from mine, but I’m betting you can list off plenty of your own treasures.

While you’re at it, why not share a few of them here? I’d like to know: What makes you rich?

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "That’s what I call a fortune" (10)

  1. Love this post. We are rich in meaningful relationships with friends and family. Today Adam was telling a friend how much he is loved by his aunt, and I felt so happy knowing that he knows he is valued for who he is (and not b/c of anything worldly but because of how she runs to hug him).

  2. P.S. “A” = April 🙂

  3. Amy – love this! And love you and your family – everyone of you.

  4. And who of us wouldn’t trade 10 strands of “real” pearls for just what you described, Amy….ask any mommy whose child is sick…any widow who just lost her husband….The most important things in our lives are not “Things”! So thankful to you for this reminder – I’m a very wealthy woman today!!

  5. Loved this post. We all have many fortunes. thanks for always edifying me and blessing me with your posts. I love you cousin Amy!! Very much!!

  6. Rebecca said:

    Just WOW 🙂 you are amazing. Thanks for the post, it is an eye opener.

Leave a comment