"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

The haunting question

I’ve had it set as the cover of one of my Pinterest boards for some time now. The question still haunts me. But I guess sometimes it’s good to be haunted by something that really needs to sink in. Have you seen this?

Wow. Wow.

Honestly, I don’t even want to think about the answer to that question.

I decided last night during Bible class that my personal prayer life stinks. My prayers have become repetitive and selfish. I am in need of a major overhaul in this department.

So, this morning I got up and made myself a little book. I used a spiral index card booklet–the perfect size to fit in my purse and travel around with me.

No longer will I tell you that I’ll pray for you and then forget to do it…

I filled it with general categories that I need to be in prayer about, then listed within each category lots of people and situations that I need to remember to pray for continually. (YOU may even be on my list!)

My first category? Thanksgiving! Just making a list of all I’m thankful for was such a positive way to start the day!

So, how would you answer the big question above?

(Yeah, me, too.)

There is so much to be thankful for. Want to overhaul with me? 🙂

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "The haunting question" (8)

  1. Lisa Vargas said:

    Going through the same feelings today. I’ve been feeling sorry for myself all week. Unappreciated, unloved, and just in a really sad, pity-party mood. Then, yesterday at church I prayed for myself. I always forget to pray for myself, and yesterday I did. I even did it outtoud. When I got home, the first thing I saw on Facebook were pictures that my friend posted from volunteering at Lunches of Love (a non-profit group that feeds school children during the summer.) There it was, a picture of my son’s best friend. Him and his little brother and sister were getting their lunch, smiling from ear to ear. They looked so happy to have that lunch and the love from those precious volunteers. I was immediatley ashamed of my behavior. My children and I are healthy, happy, taken care of, and have much more than we need or deserve. How in the world could I feel sorry for myself for even one minute? Today has been a day of me thanking God. Thank you for sharing, it makes me feel better that I’m not the only one who goes through this. I need an overhaul, too. Love and miss you tons!

  2. Janice (mom) said:

    I printed it and will post where I’ll see it daily!

  3. I posted it on my FB page as the best thing I’ve seen lately – maybe ever. It is a very sobering thought …and my prayer life … sadly lacking. This song plays in my head:

    My eyes are dry
    My faith is old
    My heart is hard
    My prayers are cold
    And I know how I ought to be
    Alive to You and dead to me

    But what can be done
    For an old heart like mine
    Soften it up
    With oil and wine
    The oil is You, Your Spirit of love
    Please wash me anew
    With the wine of Your Blood

  4. Thanks for this idea. Amy. I often pray when I’m rocking my youngest before bed and nap, so I keep a prayer list by my chair. But having a little notebook like yours is a great idea ~ now I won’t forget prayer needs that come to mind throughout the day, and I can add them to my list! Thanks so much for sharing ~

    • You’re welcome, Brenna. Treasure those rock-and-pray times! I’m not a morning person but I sure miss those early morning prayer sessions while nursing my babies. Thanks for your comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

