"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

It was an emotional day. I rode the roller coaster of deep sadness and incredible happiness…all in one day.

It breaks my heart that there is so much misunderstanding and misinformation out there. Christians do not hate gay people. We are not afraid of them. We are simply concerned for their souls. We believe deeply in God’s plan for the family as outlined in the Bible, and want to be able to uphold those teachings and to encourage others who do so, too, even at personal cost (such as damage to their businesses). We certainly don’t believe that we are perfect. We are simply trying each day to do our best to live in a way that pleases God…not by our own standards, but by His.

It breaks my heart that there are such crazy double standards in place. I must be tolerant of your views, but you don’t want me to be able to give voice to mine? What?!?  Our constitution gives us the right to free speech. More importantly, God’s Word tells us to “speak the truth in love.”  It’s part of growing up!

“As a result, we are no longer to be children, tossed here and there by waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, by craftiness in deceitful scheming; but speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in all aspects into Him who is the head, even Christ” (Ephesians 4:14, 15)

There was so much more that saddened me…but this is a blog about why I smile, and there were plenty of reasons for that, too.

I smiled each time I read another account of someone’s visit to Chick-fil-A. The same phrases popped up in every e-mail and facebook status I saw:

“cars wrapped around the building”

“hour-long wait”

“could hardly get in the parking lot”

I smiled because they were all followed by statements like, “But I didn’t mind at all!” and, “It was so worth it!”

I smiled about the fact that even in the crowded restaurants, people were patient and kind. And, the employees were still friendly and gracious, just like always. (My son said, “In the midst of all that, they didn’t lower the quality of their service. That’s impressive!”)

I smiled because I had to squelch my desire to hug everyone waiting in line at Chick-fil-A and tell them how proud I was of them for standing up for what they believe is right, and for doing their small part to encourage that in others. (Can you imagine if I’d given in to that desire?)

I smiled because, as I sat among tables full of friends in our church fellowship area at supper, surrounded by red and white bags and cups, I heard no gay bashing, no people bashing at all, no death wishes…nothing at all like the comments I saw repeatedly by some of those who opposed customer appreciation day and the moral stance behind it. I simply heard sweet fellowship and expressions of joy over the opportunity to stand up together and make our voices heard.

I smiled each time I heard someone say, at supper, “Yeah, I ate there for breakfast, too.” Or, “I went yesterday and today for lunch.”

I smiled as I read of those who don’t have Chick-fil-A restaurants in their area, who supported the company anyway by buying gift cards to send to friends and relatives in other parts of the country.

I smiled when I saw two other fast food companies–Chick-fil-A’s competitors, in other words–who showed public support for a company whose leader was willing to take a stand.

I smiled as I read news reports of stores running completely out of food supplies that had been stocked for the whole week.

I smiled because while reading this article, I noticed this interesting comment: “With regards to Cathy’s statement on same-sex marriage, Bloom said it appeared to have been a ‘bad business decision…’”

Hmmm…I’m pretty sure the buycott outweighed the boycott!

I smiled when I read my friend’s account of standing in line at a Chick-fil-A restaurant where the waiting crowd burst out singing “God Bless America.” (I got chills again just typing that!)

I smiled because I’ve been reminded that my children can still grow up in a world where there will always be people who stand up for truth, no matter how many tell us to be silent, because we still believe in the words of Acts 5:29: We must obey God, rather than men.

What made you smile this week?

Thanks for stopping by.

Comments on: "I rode the roller coaster" (15)

  1. Nicely done, Amy. Love you! Yesterday was my second time to cry in a fast food restaurant. The other time was at Whataburger with you.

    • I remember that….and just look at what God did with THAT conversation! 🙂

      • Charlie Richards said:

        I LOVE you Amy.Every time I see a pic of you on Facebook or read a post from you or read your blog,your words are your heart and it shows Christ.I LOVE you because you’re my sister and we have the same Heavenly Father.Love you sis.:)

        • Thanks, Charlie, for all the sweet encouragement! Showing Christ is my ultimate goal so that’s certainly the best compliment you could give me! 🙂 Love you, too!

  2. Thank you Amy! Very nicely said.

  3. Amy-I borrowed your blog (just the writing, not a link to you) and put it on my FB status attributing to “A.”. Several of my FB friends have been quite ugly about yesterday. You wrote the words so eloquently I wanted to share them.

  4. We had Chic fil a Make Up Day at our house and let the employees know we were coming to make up for our miss yesterday!

  5. I agree with Charlie Richards, couldn’t of said any better. Luv you

  6. I smiled as I waited in line at Chick-fil-a this week, too! It is a testamony to God that so many believers will stand up for another believer. Whenever we start to think as Elisha did “I’m the only one”…we must remember that God sees His children, even when we do not.

    • I have been thinking about that same story! I felt like it was really good for my KIDS to see that we are not alone in trying to defend the truths in God’s Word. I could tell them that all day long, but last week they SAW it. Very cool…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

