"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

Off on the right foot

I suppose it doesn’t really matter what the calendar says. After all, homeschooling year round means the first day of school could fall just about anywhere. And yet, I am a diehard, day-after-Labor-Day starter. It’s what we did as kids, and it just feels right to me!

Since we’ve now made it to the end of our first month of the school year, I thought I’d share a few of my favorite “schooly moments” so far.

We started off the first day with our annual, cake-for-breakfast tradition.  This year I made Butterfinger Cake, and let’s just say no one complained!

Another important tradition: those first-day-of-school photos. (My kids do NOT consider this a highlight of the school year, but I certainly do!)

(I printed the cute little signs from here.)

There are so many things I love about teaching my kiddos at home. I love that I see learning going on no matter which room I enter, whether it’s the kitchen…

…or the living room…

…or the bedrooms…

…or the school room…

(I adapted Remi’s printable from here.)

…or the game room…

…or the dining room.

Yes, that means there are school-related messes everywhere, but they are worth it! This year, even our bathroom showed signs that school had started!

(That was for me, by the way…not the kids. Thanks, Troy!)

I love all the hands-on activities that go on in our home, like science experiments…

Observing fat and protein molecules moving in milk

Addy is rubbing vegetable oil on a bird feather to see how down works.

Now, getting it wet…

…and observing the difference. See how the water beads up on the one she oiled, on the left?

….and history projects.

Addy made sesame circles for Greek food night while studying ancient Greece…

…and Greek salad, too, of course! Mmmmmm….

I love finding activities around the house that I didn’t even assign, like when Addy decided to experiment with growing her own green onions…

…or when she decided, on her own, to illustrate her Latin vocabulary words the first week of school, and put them in a card for us:

I’ll admit that some days are harder than others…like when the mom who already has issues with touching raw meat has to help a child break open and compare the densities of chicken and beef bones. (Eeeewww!)

The things we do for our kids, huh?

We also took a couple of field trips during our first month of school…but I’ll save those for another post.

And, you can see lots more of our first weeks of school at my new preschool blog, coming soon!

Wherever you or yours go to school, I hope you’re all having a great year so far and learning what’s most important. I’d love to hear about it—so please, leave me a comment below!

Thanks for stopping by.

Comments on: "Off on the right foot" (6)

  1. I hope you know how happy all of those pictures make me. I am so impressed with you and all you do. You inspire me in so many ways.

  2. It looks like a wonderful learning environment! We love home school, too! 🙂

  3. Amy, you give me hope for the future – and that makes ME smile!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

