"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

Because he wears the hat

The 2012 election is over. And now, we move on to the difficult task of showing respect for a man’s office, regardless of our respect (or lack thereof) of the man who occupies it…and teaching our children to do the same.

Although I disagree unequivocally with most of our newly-reelected president’s ideology, I must continue to show respect for his position.

Why?

As the old, well-loved song says, “For the Bible tells me so.”

“…for it is written, ‘You shall not speak evil of a ruler of your people.’” (Acts 23:5)

In the above verse, Paul was referencing Exodus 22:28, “You shall not curse God, nor curse a ruler of your people.”

It won’t be easy. I know there will be many issues I will feel very strongly about. I may rant and rave about those issues, and I may point out where the president’s actions defy biblical authority. But what I will not do is call him an idiot or tell everyone how stupid he is. His actions will speak for themselves, I fear, but I will not slander him, and I won’t allow my children to do so, either.

“Remind the people to be subject to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready to do whatever is good, to slander no one, to be peaceable and considerate, and to show true humility toward all men.” (Titus 3:1-2)

Verses like the following are hard to swallow at a time like this. But, if I stand by the Bible, I stand by the Bible, tough parts and all.

“Show proper respect to everyone: Love the brotherhood of believers, fear God, honor the king.” (I Peter 2:17)

Dishonoring our leaders by calling them hateful names is a poor reflection on us. It violates God’s will and hurts our example among non-believers. Yes, I am angry. I want to lash out. But there are bigger concerns at stake, like my soul and the souls of those I influence, so I must exercise self-control when I speak of the president of our country.

May God bless us as we do our best to fulfill ALL His commands.

Psalm 22:28

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "Because he wears the hat" (6)

  1. Amy, thank you for this post. You write so well! I was struck by the next 3 verses of Titus 3:
    (3 For we ourselves were also once foolish, disobedient, deceived, serving various lusts and pleasures, living in malice and envy, hateful and hating one another.
    4 But when the kindness and the love of God our Savior toward man appeared,
    5 not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to His mercy He saved us, through the washing of regeneration and renewing of the Holy Spirit,)
    It was God’s kindness, love, and mercy that once saved a foolish and deceived young woman, who is now old and understands the power and strength of these attributes. We must trust God’s instructions and leave results to Him. He is all-wise!

  2. Great post, Amy. Thank you for speaking Truth.

  3. A very good reminder, which is sorely needed right now. Thank you.

  4. Thank you Amy for your writing; you have a very wise & wonderful mom.

  5. Thank you Amy for this reminder. I fought to keep from joining the masses on FB and other areas in the “bashing” of the President. I failed a couple of times and had to remind myself of who I am. I disagree with so many of his positions but then again I wasn’t 100% Mitt either. This was a tough election as I didn’t feel good really about either candidate. I hope many read this blog and comes to grips with themselves as well. I will share it if you don’t mind. Rosie

  6. Excellent point, Amy. You have a godly heart. I pray I will be able to bridle my tongue and respect the office even though I too disagree vehemently with our President on most all issues.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

