"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

My imperfect life

It’s hard to imagine anyone thinking I have “the perfect life.” (I giggled just typing that phrase!) But just in case I’ve given anyone that impression, I want to set the record straight. Right here. Right now.

This is a blog about why I smile. I share with you the happy parts, hoping they’ll make you happy, too.

But trust me: Things aren’t always all “sunshine and rainbows” around here!

I have bad hair days.

I  oversleep.

I  lose my temper.

I  let the laundry pile up.

Less than HALF of what is waiting in my laundry room at this very moment…..

I  miss deadlines.

I  lose things.

I  let the house get way too messy.

I eat junk.

I  run late.

I  spend foolishly.

I  get my feelings hurt.

I  make bad decisions.

I  waste time.

I have, on more than one occasion, found things growing in our fridge that I could not identify. I have been afraid to look under my child’s bed. I have lost things that weren’t even mine.

I get discouraged. I get overwhelmed. I get frustrated.

Many days I am surrounded by dirty dishes and sticky floors and overdue library books and at least one cranky kid.

But I am fully convinced that, even on those days, there is always something to smile about. ALWAYS. And that’s why I continue to post to this blog.

I love these words from Melissa Wiley, which perfectly explain the way I think and write:

“Every day is complicated, messy, and full of friction. And every day has glorious or cozy moments worth celebrating. I seldom bother to chronicle the friction and the mess because writing time is fleeting and precious—and childhood even more so. I’d rather capture the small joys that I might forget—or take for granted—if I don’t take time to set them down in words. I don’t want anyone to be under the impression that things are always perfect around here! Heaven knows we are anything but. Perfect, frictionless, orderly? Nope. Happy? Most of the time!”

My other reason for sharing “the good parts” with you? In Mark 5:19, Jesus said to a man He’d just healed, “…Go home to your people and report to them what great things the Lord has done for you, and how He had mercy on you.”

My God has shown me great mercy, which I do not deserve, and He has done many great things for me. I want to share some of them here. He’s done much for you, too, and I want to remind you of that.

I want to daily look around me for blessings to acknowledge, for reasons to give thanks, and for excuses to smile. And I want to motivate you to do the same.

I am just like you, living with struggles, with sadness, and with sin. But together we can be on the lookout for the joy in everyday life…..the small victories…..the smiles and successes we might not notice if we aren’t actively looking.

So let’s keep looking!

“I told them how the hand of my God had been favorable to me…”   (Neh. 2:18)

Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "My imperfect life" (18)

  1. Amy Martin said:

    Thank you, Amy! What a joy and blessing you are to me today and to all who know you! You are real. You are honest. And you honor Him! How great the Father’s love!
    Love you, beloved friend!

  2. These words have truly blessed my soul this morning, Amy. Thank you, for encouraging me to look for the joys in each day instead of wallowing in the “pits” full of frustrations and overwhelm-ment (overwhelm-ity? overwhelm-ousness?). Bless you for sharing!!! ❤
    –from another mom who might have people thinking she has it all together

    • Dee, you DO seem to have it all together…but I know you would never claim to because of your humble heart. Thank you for your encouragement and your example. I appreciate you so much!

  3. Paul O'Rear said:

    Great post, Amy! I can relate to most of the “challenges” you just confessed … except the bad hair days. I got a “buzz cut” years ago so that I wouldn’t have to worry about that. (Be jealous!) Next time you find unidentifiable stuff growing in the fridge, you should totally take a picture and post it so that others can compare. :o) Tell Troy I said hi.

  4. Very helpful thoughts, Amy! One of my best friends and I were just being “real” with each other a few days ago and it made us both feel so much better. We said we would pray for one another and remember to cherish the times we have with our kiddos. Blog life can seem so perfect, but we all know that it isn’t that way always! Thanks for sharing the good news!

  5. Yes, very real — but your attitude (and faith and determination) is what I love so much about you! Makes your happy posts seem even brighter, like a light showing up in the darkness or a diamond on black velvet!!

  6. This makes me think of a song we sing in church:

    Are you ever burdened with a load of care?
    Does the cross seem heavy you are called to bear?
    Count your many blessings, every doubt will fly,
    and you will be singing as the days go by.
    Count your blessings, name them one by one.
    Count your blessings, see what God has done!

    It is the idea of dwelling on the positive; sharing the gospel, God’s blessings, and those things that make us smile, which lessen the day to day grind, ease our burdens, and help us see the good. Thanks for sharing what makes you smile with us. It makes me smile, too!

    • You are absolutely right! I think of this one, too: “Turn your eyes upon Jesus. Look full in His wonderful face. And the things of earth will grow strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace.”

  7. Very nice Amy, to give us such perspective. I thank you for reminding me to “keep it real” in my own blogging world.

  8. […] over at Why Amy Smiles is keeping it real today on her blog. In her post titled “My Imperfect Life” Amy shares […]

  9. […] things as they come…the perfect with the imperfect; the chaos with the calm. I recently wrote here about my very typical, imperfect life, and this week has provided yet another example of how things […]

  10. Even when a wife and mother is ill and can only guard her home while reclining on the couch, her presence is needed. Just being there creates an atmosphere of stability and purpose in the home, and it is very important for the family.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

