"…And she smiles at the future." ~Proverbs 31:25

She’s making her list

I am a list maker. I make so many lists that I really should keep a list of all my lists. I’m guessing it started back when I was a child, and probably at Christmastime. After all, what child doesn’t love to make a wish list for Santa? But several days ago I found a different kind of list stuck to our refrigerator:

"Addy's Christmas list of things to make"

“Addy’s Christmas list of things to make”

You see, our daughter, Addison, is also a list maker. But I love that hers is not a list of things she hopes to receive, but things she hopes to make and give.

When my husband and I found the list, we talked about how cute it was. (I especially love the homemade pen holder!) But evidently she took her plans very seriously, because this morning I found all these under the tree:

All are homemade by Addy, and she even made some of the packaging herself:

I love that she spent so much time creating gifts for others. But this isn’t something new.  Every year it seems that more than half the gifts under our tree are from Addy. (And in a family of six, “more than half” is a lot of presents!)

I am constantly learning from this sweet girl, who lives out Acts 20:35:

“…..and remember the words of the Lord Jesus, that He Himself said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.'”

Thanks for stopping by!

 

Comments on: "She’s making her list" (10)

  1. Your kids are so neat! Please tell me they argue and fight with each other at least some time…otherwise I’ll start thinking you have “stepford children” LOL

    • Yes, Karen, they do argue with each other. But when they do, we try to remind them of how much they love each other! I will make them tell each other “X# of things they love” about each other and that usually helps get them back on track. If not, I’ll go so far as to have them think about how life would be if that sibling weren’t around. I want them to appreciate each other and make the most of their time together. Addy is very aware that her older brothers only have a couple more years at home. Besides, it’s easier to suspend the fighting at Christmastime! 🙂

  2. Mike James said:

    As always you and your family impress and encourage me. In a world full of greed and selfishness it is so refreshing to hear of and see in action Christian principals being taught and followed. Keep up the great work. Love you guys. Mike

  3. She’s so very sweet and thoughtful! 🙂

  4. I can’t wait until Christmas to find out what she made for everyone!

  5. She is so sweet; but then again look a who is teaching her 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

